Patient Safety and Quality Improvement

The responsibility of the Patient Safety and Continuous Quality Improvement committee (PS & CQI) is to monitor all orthopaedic activities and then to suggest and implement improvements. Our goals are to improve treatment results and the patient experience while reducing adverse events/complications. This process involves a committed group of surgeons, nurses, residents, physician assistants and PhD research experts who meet monthly.

The committee liaises with other Hospital Departments and Divisions to combine efforts and avoid duplication as we pursue our aim to meet/exceed Provincial, National and International Standards.

Please follow the link below to access our recent article outlining our CQI initiative.

Committee Members

Randa Berdusco MD MSc FRCSC, Committee Chair

Paul E. Beaulé MD FRCSC, Division Head

Natasha Bélanger-Willoughby, Physician Assistant

Kathryn Bickerton RN BScN, Clinical Manager D7 of Civic Campus

Matthew Coyle MD, Resident Representative

Geoffrey Dervin MD MSc FRCSC

Johanna Dobransky, Clinical Research Manager

Jung-Kyong Kim PhD, Clinical Research Associate

Stephen Kingwell MD FRCSC, Integrated Spine CQI Lead

Kelly Lafontaine BScN, Clinical Manager 6NE of General campus

Steven Papp MD MSc FRCSC, Director Clinical Services

Stéphane Poitras PT PhD, Scientific Lead

Johanne Samson, Executive Administrator

Annual Report